Hungry

But I will go to Tesco soon where a bewildering array of food stuffs will inevitably make it hard for me to make a decision. But that isn’t anything new with me anyway.

This, my first foray into blogging, is perhaps long overdue so, for the next week or two, the content will be pretty flat.

I pulled on a t-shirt my parents bought me from a tourist shop in Reykjavik, it reads “Cool As A Viking: Iceland”, bought in reference to the live folk night I run in Sheffield, Cool As Folk. Scandinavia and Northern Europe has been on my mind now and again since Sunday evening since listening to the new Whitest Boy Alive track, “Island”. Embracing fully the Balearic elements of Scandinavian electronic music galvanised by Lindstrom and others in 2008, this new effort follows essentially a similar pattern to the pop songs from “Dreams”, the band’s first album, an album recorded in one take at a practice session (I believe?). The step up in production values is evident and, overall, suggests that the band will perhaps take 2009 in the same way Hercules & Love Affair took 2008.

It also led me to The New Wine, a Norwegian Balearic pop outfit who are touring with WBA within the next few months. This is unabashed pre-party music, something to elongate the process of finding the right shirt for the right night. I am pretty hungry so will purchase food stuffs in a matter of moments. Moments matter. What?

The New Wine

The Whitest Boy Alive

Lindstrom

Leave a Reply

