Beard Lust

Thoughts of the past fortnight have ranged wildly but often land upon the paranoia I face about my face. My beard is becoming bigger than me, I don’t mind this fact, the beard is my making. It has become clear, though, that it may be my undoing.

I console myself by listening to Bonnie “Prince” Billy and thinking about his beard.

album-bonnie-prince-billy-master-and-everyone1

Album “Master And Everyone”, possibly my favourite, is comfort on many levels but, ultimately, acts as inspiration at those moments when I am stricken by “The Fear”. Beard fear.

Someone who doesn’t have a beard is Dent May. Ukelele pop maestro from Mississippi, signed to Animal Collective’s label Paw Tracks and heading out on tour with them accross Europe in March, Dent is a gem. Listening to his MySpace page while deciding what shoes to committ to this afternoon filled me with hope and optimism for the day ahead. Thank you, Dent. I will turn to you once more in times of (frequent) indecision.

Dent May

Bonnie “Prince” Billy

Leave a Reply

